[William H.]

William H.


[5.0 star rating]
4/25/2016

Kartunes is first class. I am so thankful I didn't go anywhere else. Very knowledgeable and great customer service. Based on what I observed, they can handle the most complex stereo problems. Didn't try to sell me anything I didn't need. Fixed a huge mess of stereo wiring issues in less than an hour. The place is neat and clean, with very comfortable chairs to relax in while waiting.

[Kyle K.]

Kyle K.


[5.0 star rating]
11/28/2015

They have an awesome deal on speakers and that is what made me go to them. Had my 2 subs in box, amp, bass knob, and all the wiring done by them.  Made an appointment with them and went and had lunch and went for a walk around seaside while I waited. Didn't take too long for even for everything they explained they were going to do. When I arrived to pick it up they showed me how to adjust everything and how well they hid the wiring. Very pleased with the work and even took my friend there for the same setup and he too is pleased. Great place for professional stereo work

[Gary F.]

Gary F.


[5.0 star rating]
8/4/2015

Fast and knowledgeable. Highly recommended. Purchased and installed in the same hour!

[David W.]

David W.


[5.0 star rating]
6/28/2015

First review I have ever written on Yelp but I have to say that I received great service at Kartunes and love my new sound system. So, Karen who is out front is friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and even attractive. I arrived not knowing exactly what I wanted. Karen told me in less than 5 mins, and she turned out to be correct. Tim who actually does or supervises the work is a car electronic geek. He really knows his stuff, that's obvious, but I sometimes had trouble following him due to my ignorance of the topic.

The job took exactly as long as they said it would, and they did it the day after I first walked in. You can get a good burrito at the Mexican restaurant across the street while you wait. And they will follow up with a call the next week to address any concerns that you have. OK, other companies may do that, but I got this crazy idea that Tim and Karen really care.

[Marciano H.]

Marciano H.

[5.0 star rating]
4/29/2015

Great customer service...and always happy to reset my system or correct something I did wrong, especially since I don't  know how. I recommend Kartunes to all my freinds. 
- Marciano

[Marshall P.]

Marshall P.


[5.0 star rating]
1/26/2015

I went to Kartunes shopping for a new stereo for my wife's Toyota. Being the Christmas season, there were a few people in the shop browsing. Karen did a fantastic job of interacting with multiple people and really helped me narrow down to the models with the feature set and price I was looking for. Bought it, and made an appointment for the installation. On the appointed day, the install was done right on time. A few weeks later, I called with a question, and Tim quickly called me back, even though they were actually closed that day. I actually work professionally in software; helping large companies with their call centers and customer service, and can honestly say Kartunes has GREAT service!

[Mark M.]

Mark M.


[5.0 star rating]
12/19/2014

They have done seven or eight of my cars... I've lost count... numerous Porsches and BMW's plus the kids jeeps... they no their stuff, great prices and Tim and Karen are just pro's.

[Larry M.]

Larry M.


[5.0 star rating]
2/20/2013

This little shop is what total customer service is all about. The proprietor (I think he's the owner, at least) was a treasure trove of info, and had to be creative about how to hard wire radar detector into my new Ford, but got the job done, cleanly, quickly, and affordably (even though, regrettably, I didn't buy most of the gear from him.) Great business.



Suzanne T.



[5.0 star rating]
8/22/2012

These guys are the best of the best.  I wouldn't trust my car with anyone else!  Great prices and great service what more can you ask for!  Don't waste your time going anywhere else!



5.0 star rating
2/20/2013

This little shop is what total customer service is all about. The proprietor (I think he's the owner, at least) was a treasure trove of info, and had to be creative about how to hard wire radar detector into my new Ford, but got the job done, cleanly, quickly, and affordably (even though, regrettably, I didn't buy most of the gear from him.) Great business.


5.0 star rating
9/19/2012

I received a bad install of my XM radio from a dealer in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Back in the Bay area, I searched for a good auto stereo place and found Kartunes. Because I wanted better service than I'd received in Louisiana, I was happy to drive the 45 minutes to Kartunes. It was well worth the drive.  They were so friendly and helpful. Tim was really honest and upfront about the limitations of re-installing the radio in my tiny car, a Mazda 2. I trusted his professionalism and took a walk down the street to have some lunch while he worked on the car. I returned and paid less than what I was quoted (always a nice surprise). I can't tell you how happy I was to be able to listen to the radio on my beautiful drive home. Thank you Kartunes!



5.0 star rating
10/14/2011

I snagged a low-end amp, subs, and amp wiring kit for an awesome price from a friend but wasn't confident enough to install myself. I turned to Kar Tunes for help and they were able to install everything nicely in under 2 hours, thankfully under my budget. The bass sounds amazing and I doubt I'll be playing it as loud as it can go.

They also gave me some great advice on stopping rattles. If I need anything else installed I'll definitely turn to them again. Great service and fair prices.


5.0 star rating
7/13/2012

I don't write a lot of reviews, but I like to support local small businesses and promote them when I can.  I was looking to get a new receiver to replace the stock unit in my Mitsubishi SUV, because I wanted an auxiliary jack to plug my phone into the car stereo.  I went to Kartunes today and they got me a nice receiver with advanced Bluetooth functionality (so cool!), as well as a bunch of other cool features (including the auxiliary jack, of course).  They installed it in less than an hour.  Got a military discount, so the price was right, too.  Very pleased with the whole operation, and no complaints whatsoever.  Strongly recommended.


5.0 star rating
3/14/2013

New in town, I needed new front speakers for my Acura. Based on local recommendation, I went to Kar Tunes. Tim and Karen knew immediately which speakers would work, gave me a fair price on the speakers and installation plus an appointment for later that afternoon. Gave me a time when the job would be done and called me to let me know it was finished. The speakers sound fantastic. Good product, good service, nice people. What more can you ask?


5.0 star rating
8/22/2012

These guys are the best of the best.  I wouldn't trust my car with anyone else!  Great prices and great service what more can you ask for!  Don't waste your time going anywhere else!



5.0 star rating
6/13/2012

The consummate professionalism and expertise of the Kartunes staff got me back rockin' on the road.

My stereo was having issues - unable to turn up the volume without the system shutting down. It did this before and the shop in Oregon that I took it to unhooked one of the drivers and called it good.  It remained this way until I took it to Kartunes.

I thought I was going to have to buy several new components but Tim and David were able to correct the questionable work.  Now my stereo sounds awesome!  

I highly recommend Kartunes to anyone who wants honest work done on their car audio!


Overall Excellent
Recently i took my 2011 Chevy Colorado to Kar Tunes in Seaside, CA. These guys did such an amazing job i don't even know where to start. They installed a Pioneer 2dim Nav/DvD combo. 2 7" LCD's in the headrests of the front seats. A full Alpine Stereo system /w subs + custom box, a rear backup cam, +more. Long story short, everything came out perfect, the owner Tim personally picked me up in his custom Porsche when my truck was ready. Good luck finding that kind of service these days. Bottom line if you live in Monterey County or surrounding area's. Take your Vehicle here and expect satisfaction.

h here. 

 5.0 star rating 11/16/13 We wanted to buy our son a car stereo for his 18th birthday. After calling Best Buy and getting absolutely no where, I looked on Yelp for a local car stereo store and I am glad I did. Kar Tunes is a local operator with the husband doing to installs and the wife running the store. Both are absolutely great people and know their business inside and out. We selected the stereo and 6 speakers. All were installed perfectly, for the exact quote they gave me and completed on time. I was so impressed, I am now going to have them install a rear backup camera in my car. I don't often write reviews, but Kar Tunes deserves this one!


5.0 Star rating

This store is the best of the best!  I've purchased several car stereos from them over the years and I'm always impressed with the superb service, fair prices, and great selection.  Today I purchased a new radio and was charged only $50 for installation - even though (because of the weirdness of my car) it took several hours to complete.  I even offered to pay more, this 


5.0 Star rating

Had a Viper alarm installed and remote door lock entry on my Toyota Tacoma and Kartunes did a professional job without a single scratch to the doors or the truck anywhere. Would definitely come here again. Everything we had installed works awesome! Thank you Kartunes! JAY


​5.0 star rating

 2/4/2014
​ never write reviews, but these guys are phenomenal. I keep returning to Kartunes on Broadway for my car sound system upgrades.  They do superb, clean, prompt work (my car was cleaner AFTER they were done). And I love how Tim always comes out to show me the ins and outs of the new system and then takes the time to help me tweak it to my liking. He is a craftsman with a passion for getting it right, a rare breed these days!  The price was excellent, and I appreciated the follow-up call from Karen a few days later to make sure all was working well.   These folks are wonderful. I wish every business ran this way!


5.0 3/13/14

Back in 2005 Tim and Karen of  Kar Tunes were highly recommended by the Monterey Mercedes dealer so I took my first new AMG Mercedes there for a K40 radar detector install. The shop is small but neat and clean with the owner Tim being a hands on guy with 30 years of experience.  Bonus: He is definitely a car guy with his personal driver a very trick Porsche.  Over the last 9 years I've had numerous radar detectors installed by Tim and his crew.  These included five (5) different AMG Mercedes (V12 Bi-Turbos),  two  ZO6 and one ZR1 Corvette. Ticket magnets all without detectors.  Plus two Ford Raptors with # 3 going in tomorrow.  

Any warranty or other issues are always handled with courtesy and enthusiasm.

My latest AMG is the rare 2014 SLS Black Series which costs to the North of 300K.; the others have been over 200K.  Needless to say I am VERY picky and careful about who works on them and who drives them.  "Good enough" is not in my lexicon. Tim is a Pro and totally understands nervous owners who want only the best for their rides, no matter the price of the car. I trust him with any of my cars and I can't say that about many other technicians as I am paranoid they may want to 'see what it will do' while on a test drive.  For the first couple of installs I brought a book and my lunch and kept watch on what was going on during the install.  Now I am so comfortable with then that we drop the cars off and pick them up when Karen calls to alert us they are ready.
They may or may not be the least expensive place for installs but I don't care as I know the owner of the shop is right on site and making sure the jobs are done right.  Plus, his wife Karen backs him up with her knowledge of where to get parts and how to expedite their delivery. They make a great team.​




Steven P, 5.0 rating  5/1/2014


I almost never post on Yelp. But after the experience with these guys I had to. 

The buying experience was great. I picked up a Pioneer AppRadio 3. From the start they were very knowledgeable about the features and the limitations of the radio. They were very upfront about the fact that it doesn't work with all Android phones and that some needed additional parts beyond the optional factory cable. 

After I picked out the head unit they helped me find some new door speakers that would fit my budget, they got me some Alpine Type-S components that sound great. 

They got me scheduled for install the next day and got the car from me right on time. They pointed out some damage to my door panels that the previous owner had done (nothing major, but nice to know about). Called me a few hours later and the car was finished. They stuck around for about 15 minutes to make sure I was able to get my phone connected okay, bluetooth microphone placement worked and so on.

After all of that, which I would expect of any shop, they earned their fifth star. Just now, a week after the install, the shop calls me. They just wanted to make sure I was enjoying the radio, not having any problems with it, and that I didn't have any questions. This, to me, is above and beyond what most any shop would do. They didn't try to upsell me anything I didn't want or need.

The bottom line is that they seemed to genuinely appreciate me as a customer. So much more so than any other service provider I've been to.

Oh, and they offer military discount.



5/8/2014


Hi Tim, Great job on my car. I wanted to thank you again for doing an excellent job in working on it. Take care, Jeff



7/9/2014 5.0

I took my clients car (1984 944 Porsche) for a new stereo. I walked into the shop at 11:30 in the AM without an appointment. I told Karen the requirements needed, Blue Tooth USB port and accessary port. Rather then trying to sell me the most expensive unit. She showed me all of the available units suited for the vehicle. She told me that it would be 1 hour before the technician could start the install. So when I came back 1 hour later they went to work immediately. Tim was very professional and repaired other items that were incorrectly wired with the last stereo install.The prices were very fair and everyone there was super professional and friendlyHIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS SHOP!!!!!!!



[5.0 star rating]
1/26/2015

I went to Kartunes shopping for a new stereo for my wife's Toyota. Being the Christmas season, there were a few people in the shop browsing. Karen did a fantastic job of interacting with multiple people and really helped me narrow down to the models with the feature set and price I was looking for. Bought it, and made an appointment for the installation. On the appointed day, the install was done right on time. A few weeks later, I called with a question, and Tim quickly called me back, even though they were actually closed that day. I actually work professionally in software; helping large companies with their call centers and customer service, and can honestly say Kartunes has GREAT service!

Kartunes auto stereo and alarm

​​831-394-1700

Kartunes auto stereo and ALARM
in Seaside
 ​​767 Broadway Ave Seaside CA 93955 us


[5.0 star rating]
2/21/2015
1 check-in

Great, friendly service. Tim and Karen know their business and have an excellent selection.





[5.0 star rating]
5/1/2014

I almost never post on Yelp. But after the experience with these guys I had to. 

The buying experience was great. I picked up a Pioneer AppRadio 3. From the start they were very knowledgeable about the features and the limitations of the radio. They were very upfront about the fact that it doesn't work with all Android phones and that some needed additional parts beyond the optional factory cable. 

After I picked out the head unit they helped me find some new door speakers that would fit my budget, they got me some Alpine Type-S components that sound great. 

They got me scheduled for install the next day and got the car from me right on time. They pointed out some damage to my door panels that the previous owner had done (nothing major, but nice to know about). Called me a few hours later and the car was finished. They stuck around for about 15 minutes to make sure I was able to get my phone connected okay, bluetooth microphone placement worked and so on.

After all of that, which I would expect of any shop, they earned their fifth star. Just now, a week after the install, the shop calls me. They just wanted to make sure I was enjoying the radio, not having any problems with it, and that I didn't have any questions. This, to me, is above and beyond what most any shop would do. They didn't try to upsell me anything I didn't want or need.

The bottom line is that they seemed to genuinely appreciate me as a customer. So much more so than any other service provider I've been to.

Oh, and they offer military discount.






Fred T.[5.0 star rating]
11/17/2014

I purchased a new 2013 Honda Accord and was frustrated with the poor sounding car audio. I read the reviews of Kartunes and decided to give them a try. I am so glad I did. I was greeted by Karen who took her time to explain some options and answer my many questions since I am a novice about car stereos. Then her husband Tim came and sat in my car and explained why everything sounded bad and went over Karen's suggestions in detail. I was so happy to be able to say what I desired to have in an audio system and then have Tim and Karen tell me the best way to do it. They also gave several price options. You may also listen to what they suggest in their demonstration room. I made an appointment and everything went right on time. A very clean installation with great help and explanations of how it all worked when finished. Karen is very knowledgable about the subject and Tim is totally into it and gets a thrill out of handing you the keys when he is finished. My only problen now is the cost of gas as I do not want to stop driving the car and listening to my INCREDIBLE new sounds!!! Do not hesitate to go to Kartunes, I give them 5 stars!




[5.0 star rating]
1/26/2015

I went to Kartunes shopping for a new stereo for my wife's Toyota. Being the Christmas season, there were a few people in the shop browsing. Karen did a fantastic job of interacting with multiple people and really helped me narrow down to the models with the feature set and price I was looking for. Bought it, and made an appointment for the installation. On the appointed day, the install was done right on time. A few weeks later, I called with a question, and Tim quickly called me back, even though they were actually closed that day. I actually work professionally in software; helping large companies with their call centers and customer service, and can honestly say Kartunes has GREAT service!





Dee S.

[5.0 star rating]
1/26/2013

Had a Viper alarm installed and remote door lock entry on my Toyota Tacoma and Kartunes did a professional job without a single scratch to the doors or the truck anywhere. Would definitely come here again. Everything we had installed works awesome! Thank you Kartunes! JAY



Suzanne T.

[5.0 star rating]
8/22/2012

These guys are the best of the best.  I wouldn't trust my car with anyone else!  Great prices and great service what more can you ask for!  Don't waste your time going anywhere else!



Michael D.

[5.0 star rating]
6/13/2012

The consummate professionalism and expertise of the Kartunes staff got me back rockin' on the road. 

My stereo was having issues - unable to turn up the volume without the system shutting down. It did this before and the shop in Oregon that I took it to unhooked one of the drivers and called it good.  It remained this way until I took it to Kartunes.

I thought I was going to have to buy several new components but Tim and David were able to correct the questionable work.  Now my stereo sounds awesome!  

I highly recommend Kartunes to anyone who wants honest work done on their car audio!


[Herp M.]

Herp M.
Seaside, CA

1 friend
3 reviews

[5.0 star rating]
8/29/2011

These guys are awesome!

If you're in Seaside/Monterey area, don't bother with any other place. Kartunes has a great selection of quality products, along with a very knowledgeable and professional staff who can handle any kind of installation work. Not only that, but they stand behind their work 100%. I couldn't be happier with the work they did.

They had everything I needed to add some bass to my stock system, and the install was as clean as could be! The best part came later, though.

Shortly after getting the sub and amp installed, I had to move. While driving through AZ, NM, TX some parts of the sub came unglued due to the heat and the sub blew. After arriving to TX, Kartunes advised me to find the nearest authorized Alpine dealer to handle the warranty replacement. The only such dealer in my area is Best Buy. I went to them and they basically told me: "You didn't buy it from us, so **** you" and gave me Alpine's corporate number. I called Alpine, and they wanted me to jump through all sorts of inconvenient hoops without any actual guarantee of replacement.

I contacted Kartunes, and they told me to just send it back to them, and they sent me a brand new sub right away, along with a refund check for the shipping costs. Within a week, the system was as good as new, and Kartunes gave me some helpful tips on how to break in the unit properly so I can avoid this issue in the future. Simply outstanding!

Gabriella Montecchi Clifton, (facebook post)  We use Kartunes and we are always satifsied with there great service. Gabriella MBZ of Monterey







 Jason S.[5.0 star rating]
5/1/2015

This was an excellent and painless experience. I called during their off hours, and they responded promptly that they would get back to me as soon as they open for the next business day. The next day, I received a call from Karen. I told what model car I have, the fact that I'm not an audiophile, and that I just want a decent stereo, speakers, and a better keyless entry. She was able to draft up a quote immediately. I went over to the store to see my options. Though she let me sample the higher quality systems, she knew that I was not in this for shows or extreme systems. She brought me down to a reasonable set of speakers, a nice stereo with all the options I requested, and a solid keyless entry/alarm system. 

(Military folks: if you are active duty, you get 10% off of equipment. I am, and they indeed honored that.)

Scheduling was a breeze. I dropped the car off first thing Friday morning, and it was done that day. Tim, the installer and technical expert spent about 15 minutes going over my new system. He showed me exactly what he did, where he installed everything, why it was installed that way, and how to use it properly. His work is extremely professional and honest.

Folks, if you're thinking about going to a Big Box store, skip it. A family run business like this knows their products inside and out, and they take the time to give you a very personal experience. You will be very pleased with the results. I am.







 Miller S.[5.0 star rating]
1/7/2015

Had them install an updated stereo in my Mini Cooper, and a second time put fog lights in the Mini. Both times Great work, finished on time, great people, Family run shop, My highest rating! I will take all my car Audio needs to them. Oh! and for and driving light upgrades or car alarms too!